My Thanksgiving tradition

For Thanksgiving, my Dad, one of his friends and I go deer hunting.  We get up at 1:00 am so we can be the early birds.  We drink lots of coffee!  We have to get our stuff ready.  One time, I forgot to grease my gun so we were not able to leave until 2:00 am.  My Dad said,  ¨No problem.  We still have plenty of time.¨ We got there at 3, and there was only one guy sleeping in his truck.  The funny part was he was laying with his head out the back window.  He woke up when he heard us.  He bumped his head on the top of the window.  That must have hurt!

We hunt for about 4 hours. After hunting, we bring the deer home and spend the time gutting and skinning our deer.  That usually takes us about three hours a deer.  We usually get about 5 deer between all of us.  For the whole season, 8 is the max I have gotten so far.  My Dad gets about 20 per season.  We try to prepare them all in one day.  We have to grease our guns after we are finished.

After all the preparing, we eat!  We dry out the meat and soak in turkey broth.  It tastes like turkey, but it is deer.  We have turkey and deer and no one knows the difference except me and my Dad.  Turkey is a little bit darker than the deer.  My sister says she does like deer, but she eats it all!  We also use the deer in our mashed potatoes.  It gives it a nice flavor.

Hunting tips

Deer recipes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>